Chocolate Stout Bread Pudding

Chocolate Stout Bread Pudding

Chocolate Stout Bread Pudding

I am not a huge bread pudding fan. I’ve only had one bread pudding that I ever loved and that was when I lived in Flagstaff. The Beaver Street Brewery has the best Chocolate Bread Pudding I’ve ever tasted in my life. I still remember crowding around it with my female friends, forks in hand, and all of us diving right into it like a magnificent warm, chocolate cloud.

The only recipe that’s ever come close to the one I remember so fondly is this recipe for Chocolate Stout Bread Pudding from Okie Dokie Artichokie. Look at this eh? Now I’ve posted a list of ingredients for you to snag on your next shopping trip, but you’ll have to go check out her actual recipe to throw this together. For those who may be concerned about cutting calories: I didn’t even make the sauce. I pulled this sweet thing out of the oven, broke off a little piece to try and decided it was so good on its own that I didn’t even need a sauce to top it. So if you want to skip some calories there I think you’ll be totally fine.

Chocolate Stout Bread Pudding
For the bread pudding:
1 12 oz. bottle Guinness or other stout
½ cup heavy cream
½ cup brown sugar and another 1 tablespoon for topping
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
½ cup bittersweet chocolate chips
4 large eggs
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
4 cups Irish soda bread, cut into cubes

For the sauce:
6 oz. Guinness Extra Stout beer
½ cup heavy cream
¼ cup brown sugar
½ cup dark chocolate chips
Pinch of sea salt

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Stout Bread Pudding

  1. Mmmm….how very interesting!! Beer in a bread pudding – and then I was not so surprised when you listed Irish soda bread for the choice of breads!! Sounds truly delicious!

  2. I am going to try to make it this weekend for my wife’s birthday at her request. Without question, I could not agree with your perspective more. I have never been a huge bread pudding fan and probably was down to a few bites of a shared bread pudding once a year or so but upon wandering into the Beaver Street Brewery a few years ago, ordering their CBP for dessert, I can say that it was one of the greatest eating pleasures I’ve ever enjoyed. Every time we go to Flagstaff now, about annually, I try to have it. I have never tried to make it at home for fear of either addiction or worse, a loss of the specialty of the magnificent indulgence but we shall see. I will try this one and see if I can muster up a similar experience.

Leave a Reply

