Lively Lentil Stew

Lively Lentil Stew

Lively Lentil Stew

This recipe from the “How it all Vegan” cookbook was pretty tasty. Pretty tasty, but not my most favorite. Granted, it might have had something to do with the celery. I am not a huge celery fan and usually avoid it. But every once in a while I’ll buy a stalk and force myself to eat it because I know it’s good for me. Must be my mother’s voice in my head telling me to do so. One thing I WILL say for this soup though, is that it was rather lighter than I’d expected it to be and I didn’t feel as stuffed as I sometimes do after eating a bowl of a more “serious” soup. Maybe that’s why they chose to call it “lively,” as I had plenty of strength left over to clean up the kitchen afterwards. Haha! I do need to make a confession: this isn’t the exact recipe that’s in the book. There were things I didn’t have on hand the evening I made this and so I just left them out of the soup. I didn’t suffer for this. The soup did not suffer for this.

Lively Lentil Stew
1 large onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, diced
2 medium carrots, chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup dry green or brown lentils
3 cups vegetable broth
1 28-oz. can diced tomatoes
2 tablespoons tomato paste
1 small potato, diced
1/2 teaspoon red pepper flakes
salt and pepper, to taste
3 tablespoons parsley

1. In a large pot, saute the onions, celery and carrots in the oil on medium heat till the onions are soft.
2. Add the lentils, broth, tomatoes, tomato paste, potatoes, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper. Stir well to combine.
3. Bring the contents of the pot to a boil and reduce heat, simmer for 30-45 minutes. Stir frequently till the lentils are tender.
4. Stir in the parsley and simmer for 5 more minutes. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

