Creamy Vegan Turnip Soup

Creamy Vegan Turnip Soup

Creamy Vegan Turnip Soup

Man, I love cream soups. But there’re some problems with that. They’re not low-fat and they’re not vegan friendly. Now I’m not vegan, although I do often like to eat like I’m one and I LOVE searching for and trying vegan recipes. However I am also not a huge fan of soy-based soups rather than milk. So I don’t make them often. I just make the cream soup and shut up. This recipe is one of my first tries at making a soup that has the illusion of being a cream soup without actually being one. It’s pretty good. I’m going to keep experimenting with different methods of making creamy soups without dairy or soy milks.

Creamy Vegan Turnip Soup
1 onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 large turnips, chopped
1/2 teaspoon cumin, optional
1 teaspoon ground thyme
2 tablespoons dried or fresh thyme
2 15-oz. cans white kidney beans, drained and rinsed
2 cups and 1 cup vegetable broth
1/2 cup soy milk (optional)
salt and pepper, to taste

1. Saute the onions and garlic in olive oil till tender.
2. Add the turnips, cumin if using, and ground and fresh thyme. Sauté five minutes.
3. Meanwhile in a blender, blend the 2 cups of vegetable broth with the white kidney beans. Add to the soup pot and bring to a boil.
4. Add in the other cup of vegetable broth and soy milk, if using. Simmer 10-15 minutes, or till turnips are tender.
5. Season with salt and pepper and turn off the heat.
6. Using a potato masher, mash up the turnips well. Serve hot.

Leave a Reply

