Thai Rice Cake

Rice cake, flipped onto its serving plate.

Rice cake, flipped onto its serving plate.

I’d been waiting for a good occasion with gluten-free folks to make this cake from my “Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking Cookbook”. My chance finally came last year at Thanksgiving 2013. This is the latest recipe ever, I know, but for some reason I just kept putting off putting it up. Which is really bad of me since the holidays came and went and this would’ve been the perfect gluten-free dessert recipe. I figured this was my moment to post it, since I’ve been bad about posting anything lately. I had a lot of decisions to make in my life. I’m going to be 31 this year and though that isn’t old it’s time for me to be honest with myself about what I want out of my own life, particularly since I’ve got multiple degrees and some experience in the job world. This soul-searching led me to take a hiatus and make changes. That’s not what’s important though. This recipe is important. Why? Because I love it. It’s different and it’s fun and it’s unexpected. You think of gluten-free recipes as using different expensive flours. Would you expect them to use rice? Give this a shot. I think you’ll have fun with it.

A cut slice. So you can see the inside-y parts.

A cut slice. So you can see the inside-y parts.

This is a 2 day recipe. I made the actual cake part the night before and made the topping the day of Thanksgiving. The recipe in the book uses raspberries, kiwi fruit and star fruit to decorate. As you can see by my cake, I went all out with berries. I used blueberries, raspberries and blackberries. I decorated the top of the cake and then kept the rest on the side for people to choose how much of each they wanted. This recipe also made me realize that I don’t own a cake pan. At all. So what did I use? A pyrex mixing bowl that was oven safe. Don’t say it can’t be done. Some of the best ideas come from not having the things you “need.” This meant my final cake was a lovely domed shape. I was amazed at how this cake came together in the end. It was almost custardy tasting to me and the rice cake actually cut like a dream. Seriously, it was way easier to slice than a normal cake. Two thumbs up for your next gluten-free gathering!

Thai Rice Cake
1 1/4 cups Jasmine rice
4 1/2 cups milk
3/4 cup superfine sugar
6 teaspoons ground cardamom
2 bay leaves
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
6 eggs, separated

for the topping:
1 1/4 cups heavy cream
1 cup plain yogurt
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
grated rind of 1 lemon
3 tablespoons superfine sugar
fresh berries and fruit to decorate

1. Grease and line a deep 10-inch round cake pan.
2. Boil the rice in unsalted water for 3 minutes. Drain.
3. Return the rice to the saucepan, adding in the milk, sugar, cardamom and bay leaves. Bring to a boil then simmer the mixture 20 minutes, stirring periodically.
4. Let the mixture cool and remove the bay leaves. Turn the rice mixture into a mixing bowl.
5. Beat in the heavy cream and then the egg yolks.
6. Preheat the oven to 350F.
7. Whisk the egg whites till they are softly stiff and fold them into the rice mixture.
8. Spoon the mixture into your prepared cake pan and bake 45-50 minutes, until the cake is risen and golden brown. The center of this cake will be a bit wobbly and will firm as the cake cools.
9. Chill overnight in the pan.
10. Turn out onto a large serving plate.
11. Whip the heavy cream till stiff. Then stir in the plain yogurt, vanilla extract, lemon rind, and sugar.
12. Cover the top and the sides of the cake with the whipped cream. You can swirl it all fancy if you want. Decorate it with your fruits and berries. Share it with everyone!

Thai Rice Cake

Thai Rice Cake

4 thoughts on “Thai Rice Cake

  1. Pingback: Bay Leaf Pound Cake | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a Reply

