Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies

Vegan, Gluten-Free Black Bean Brownies

Vegan, Gluten-Free Black Bean Brownies

I seem to have a growing number of friends who need to live their lives gluten-free. This presents a unique challenge to me. I’ve been doing a lot more gluten-free baking in the recent past than I ever thought I would. One of my favorite ideas in both theory and practice, however, has to be the Minimalist Baker’s recipe for Vegan, Gluten-Free Black Bean Brownies. I’ve included an ingredient list below, but you’ll have to go to her website to understand how it all comes together…and come together it does! I made these for a BBQ that a few gluten-free friends were coming to. The best and most amazing thing about this recipe is that it sounds totally crazy but it works like a damn charm! The black bean is almost indistinguishable from a normal brownie flavor. This may be my new default brownie recipe as it’s way easy and healthier than most recipes. You know Jake and I don’t eat a ton of desserts, so I haven’t had a chance to make these since that first time, but as you can see from the photograph the brownies sunk a bit in the middle, which leads me to believe they’re the PERFECT brownie for TOPPINGS! Next time these are going to be piled high with ice cream and caramel drizzle or perhaps brandied whipped cream and cherries. My god…I’m so excited I may have to make these again this weekend!

Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies
1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and well-rinsed
2 large flax “eggs” (2.5 tablespoons flaxseed mixed with 6 tablespoons water)
3 tablespoons coconut oil, melted
3/4 cup cocoa powder
1/4 teaspoon sea salt
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
heaping 1/2 cup raw sugar, slightly ground or pulsed in a food processor or coffee grinder for refined texture
1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder

One thought on “Gluten Free Black Bean Brownies

Leave a Reply

