Spicy Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie

Spicy Peanut Butter & Jelly Smoothie

Spicy Peanut Butter & Jelly Smoothie

I make New Year intentions rather than resolutions. I feel that calling something an intention makes me commit more seriously to it. One of my intentions this year is to eat more fruit. We don’t eat enough fruit. As a vegetarian this is really bad of me. I need to eat various fruits and veggies to keep myself as healthy as possible. Anyway, I’ve decided that one of the best ways to get myself to eat more fruit is to start making breakfast smoothies. You’ll see more recipes for this as time goes on here. I’ve been trying recipes from awesome bloggers like Leanne over at Healthful Pursuit and I finally feel confident enough to start making my own. I have to say: how awesome is frozen fruit? It immediately makes things milkshake-y without adding extra ice or anything. So I don’t even feel like I’m drinking something healthy. I feel super decadent. Anyway, this is what I’ve been drinking lately. I had a big jar of almond butter that was getting old and I have a super love for raspberries so I decided this would be a great way to use up the almond butter (so I can get a new jar!). As is common with smoothies, alter these ingredients to taste. I used almond butter and almond milk in my smoothie, but you could obviously sub other nut butters and milks in here if you want. I tried red pepper flakes AND jalapeños for this smoothie and finally decided that I liked red pepper flakes best. Try it both ways and see which you love most.

Spicy Peanut Butter and Jelly Smoothie
1 cup frozen raspberries
1/4 cup nut butter
1 tablespoon red pepper flakes or diced jalapeño
1 cup almond milk

1. Combine all ingredients in a blender and blend till smooth.
2. Garnish with extra red pepper flakes or maybe a bit of crumbled graham cracker.

Leave a Reply

