Bay Leaf Pound Cake

Sit down and have a slice

Sit down and have a slice

When I saw this recipe for a Bay Leaf Pound Cake on 101 Cookbooks I was completely intrigued. I wondered what it would taste like. I have used bay leaves for a dessert only once before, when I made my gluten-free Thai Rice Cake for Thanksgiving last year. I remember that the rice cake was just very lightly perfumed, the bay leaves pairing well with the spice of cardamom and the sweetness of the berries I used to top it. I was ecstatic to try this new recipe. I finally found my chance when we got up to Alaska. It was Jake’s birthday that first week and he needed a cake. Everyone needs a cake on their birthday. This cake went over pretty well. Jake’s not a huge fan of sweet things and this was just sweet enough to be delicious but not overly sweet. It was gone in two days. (There are a lot of boys running in and out of Jake’s mother’s house, where the cake resided).

I’ve put the ingredients list below, but you’ll have to head over to 101 Cookbooks. Her photographs are way better than mine anyway. Gal’s got some TALENT for sure!

Bay Leaf Pound Cake
for the cake:
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, cubed and at room temperature
1 tablespoon butter, at room temperature
10 fresh or dried bay leaves
1 2/3 cup all-purpose flour
1 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon fine grain sea salt
3 large eggs, at room temperature
1/2 cup sour cream
finely grated zest of 1 orange
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

for the orange glaze:
1 cup powdered sugar
1 1/2 to 2 1/2 tablespoons orange juice
1 teaspoon orange liqueur

 

Bay Leaf Pound Cake

Bay Leaf Pound Cake

One thought on “Bay Leaf Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

