Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler

Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler

Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler

I combined bits of a few different recipes to make this strawberry rhubarb cobbler. Here’s the real kicker though: I haven’t eaten rhubarb since I was a very little girl. Rhubarb pie was one of my dad’s favorites. He’d always try to get us to eat it and we always hated it…probably because it was tart. Dad never minded because that meant more pie for him. Our father was pretty clever. So when Jake’s mom wanted me to use up some of the rhubarb from the garden I was not enthused. Then she told me that using strawberries alongside sweetens up the rhubarb. I don’t remember if dad’s pies had strawberries or not, but I was willing to give it a try. We came up with the recipe below and upon taking my first bite I decided that I DID like rhubarb now. I immediately called my dad. At first he thought it was a joke, but once it became clear that I was serious I could almost hear the dots connecting in his head: So much for having his pie all to himself. Poor Dad! This recipe is great with ice cream. This recipe also left behind a lot of liquid in the baking dish. If you’re not a fan of this you can drain the leftover liquid into a small saucepan and reduce it into a sauce for ice cream. We just poured it over our mounds of vanilla.

Strawberry Rhubarb Cobbler
for the filling:
4 cups fresh rhubarb, diced
4 cups strawberries, hulled, the bigger ones halved
3/4 cups sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons orange zest
1 tablespoon cornstarch
1/2 cup orange juice

for the cobbler topping:
2 cups flour
2 tablespoons sugar
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 tablespoon baking powder
1/4 cup olive oil
1/4 cup butter
1/2 cup milk
1 egg

1. Preheat the oven to 400F.
2. In a large bowl, mix the rhubarb, strawberries, orange zest and sugar.
3. Dissolve the cornstarch in the orange juice and mix into the rhubarb and strawberry mixture.
4. Place the mixture in a 9×13-inch baking dish and set aside.
5. Meanwhile combine the flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder in a large mixing bowl.
6. Add the olive oil and butter and mix till combined.
7. Add in the milk and egg and stir till all ingredients are just incorporated.
8. Place a 1-2 tablespoon bit of dough into your palm, flatten it and place it on top of the filling. Keep making these small dough scales and laying them down like you’re putting on a roof or crafting a flat dinosaur with scales. (Haha!)
9. Bake in the oven for 30-35 minutes, or till topping is golden brown and the filling is bubbly and hot.

We cut a few roosters out of the dough for Jake's niece.

We cut a few roosters out of the dough for Jake’s niece.

Leave a Reply

