Sunrise Pasta

Sunrise Pasta

Sunrise Pasta

News news! I got a new-to-me cookbook from the used bookstore I work at. It’s called “The Garden of Earthly Delights Cookbook: Gourmet Vegetarian Cooking” by Shea MacKenzie. I haven’t decided if I like it a lot yet. It has potential, though the author seems to use a worrisome amount of vermouth in her recipes. I don’t have vermouth so I’ve been subbing. This was the first recipe I made from the book and it was super serious. I’m not kidding. I will never make this recipe again. There was so much starch in it that Jake and I almost died from our stomachs exploding. I will make the veggie part of it again for sure as a side dish, or perhaps to eat alongside a small amount of rice. But this AND pasta was such overkill that it shocked me it even made it into this cookbook. I was skeptical about pasta and potatoes, so I’m very happy that I tried it. However, I’m good from now on. Maybe if there’d been LESS potato it would’ve worked well. Five red potatoes was rather overkill. That said, when you make this in your own home, definitely chop your potatoes SMALLER than I did. I followed the directions for chopping in the cookbook that had me making potato chunks rather than smaller ones. I recommend you take a bit of extra time and make the potato pieces a bit smaller. It would’ve helped the madness factor of this recipe A LOT if the potato pieces were smaller and blended in with the rest of the stuff rather than showing up in your mouth as a massive chunk. Although this isn’t my favorite pasta recipe, I do think you should give it a try with smaller potatoes and possibly fewer potatoes. Potatoes and pasta is definitely a thing in many places and I’m glad I tried it at least once. And if you, like Jake and I, find it too crazy for your pasta, just eat the leftover pasta and potato mix separately later in the week. You won’t be sad about it. I promise.

Sunrise Pasta
12 oz. penne
5 small red potatoes, chopped
2 tablespoons olive oil
1 large red onion, sliced thin
2 cloves garlic, sliced
1 pound fresh snow peas, de-stringed and trimmed
2 tablespoons white wine
1 17-oz. can corn kernels
1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
1 teaspoon sea salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 cup minced parsley, for garnish
grated parmesan or mozzarella cheese, optional

1. Cook the penne according the the directions on the package. Try to time it so everything is done at just about the same time.
2. While the pasta is cooking, place the chopped potatoes in a medium sized pot of boiling water and cook till just about tender. Drain and set aside.
3. In a large skillet heat the olive oil and all the onion and garlic. Sauté 2 minutes, stirring frequently, before adding in the snow peas and sautéing another 3 minutes.
4. About 3-5 minutes before the pasta is cooked, add the white wine, potatoes, corn kernels, red pepper flakes, salt and pepper to the skillet. Toss to blend well. Cover and simmer 3 minutes.
5. Drain the cooked pasta and return it to the cooking pot or a big old fancy serving bowl. Add the potato and veggie mixture and toss gently.
6. Garnish with parsley and cheese (if using) and serve hot.

Leave a Reply

