Pepper Pot Soup

I may have discovered the easiest, best vegetarian cookbook out there. It’s called “Vegetarian Lunchbasket” and all of the recipes are super simple, contain few steps and minimal ingredients. This could be the perfect cookbook for vegetarians who are super busy or people who have allergies to many things. I say this because I have a coworker who is allergic to so many types of food that it’s really hard to cook for her. I like cooking for people, so it makes me sad that most everything I know how to make she can’t eat. After showing her this cookbook, though, she ended up photocopying a couple recipes that looked good because they were simple enough that she could actually eat them. And that made my heart happy. Everyone deserves to eat good food. I think it’s in the Constitution.
In any case, this is the first recipe from this cookbook that I’ve tried and it turned out pretty great. One of the things I love about such a simple cookbook is that the author has really given readers a great set of basic recipes. From these recipes I can add or subtract things and make this simple soup my own. I LOVE making things my own. I mean…it’s seriously the most fun part of cooking and probably one of the reasons that there are so many cookbooks and cooking blogs and tv shows, etc. out there. It’s a way we can all explore our creative side.
Next time I make this I’m going to add in a bunch of basil. Basil would really make this yummy. What would you add into this?

Pepper Pot Soup
2 cups water
3 carrots, peeled and sliced
1 turnip, cubed
1 tomato chopped
1 zucchini, chopped
1 tablespoon parsley
1 cup cooked lentils
1/4 cup tamari
salt and black pepper, to taste

1. In a soup pot, bring the water to a boil. Add the vegetables and simmer till tender, about 25 minutes.
2. Add lentils, tamari, salt and pepper. Simmer another 10 minutes.

Pepper Pot Soup

Pepper Pot Soup

One thought on “Pepper Pot Soup

Leave a Reply

