Lemony Quinoa with Butternut Squash

Lemony Quinoa with Butternut Squash

Lemony Quinoa with Butternut Squash


I tried this recipe from the FatFree Vegan Kitchen a couple of weeks ago. And I have a confession…I might’ve gone overboard on the veggie broth in this one. It was more veggie broth-y than lemony. So make sure you’re careful about that. This wasn’t my most favorite recipe. I think it’s because I overdid it on the veggie broth. I mean…I just get so excited about veggie broth! It’s so yummy. But I overpowered the lemon taste that I was so looking forward to in this recipe. I’ll probably try it again another night and see if I can restrain myself from adding too much veggie broth into the quinoa. Maybe I’ll do half veggie broth and half water to make sure I don’t go nuts. As usual I’ve included the ingredients below for your shopping list and I’ll force you to visit FatFree Vegan Kitchen for the how-to side of things. She’s got quite a good website. I think you’ll enjoy it. In any case I recommend this for a night when you’re short on time and have a long column of items to check off on your to-do list. The hardest part of this recipe was chopping the butternut squash. So in other words: no problem. Bonus points if you can get your husband or partner to do the chopping of the squash while you sit back and have a glass of wine.

Lemony Quinoa with Butternut Squash
1 medium butternut squash
1 teaspoon lemon juice
1 cup quinoa
1/4 cup shallots, chopped
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon dried thyme
2 1/2 cups vegetable broth
1 teaspoon grated lemon peel
1-2 tablespoons lemon juice
salt and black pepper, to taste
1 teaspoon fresh chives, minced

Leave a Reply

