Egg Foo Yung

Egg Foo Yung

Egg Foo Yung

We may or may not (ie. definitely DID) have overcooked the shrimp in the photo above because we weren’t paying close enough attention. When I say “we,” I mean ME. Haha! This recipe was awesome. We’ll just neglect to mention for the moment that this recipe is no longer a correct representation of the modern Chinese language and focus instead on the taste. This recipe from my so-loved “Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking” was really wonderful. I was skeptical because I didn’t know how a recipe featuring bean sprouts would turn out. Apparently the answer to that is: WONDERFUL. The original recipe used green bell peppers, but I only had orange on hand that day and it turned out really nicely. There was also nothing to tell me what KIND of bean sprout to use, though the picture in the cookbook showed those nice fat ones…mung bean sprouts. At first I couldn’t find any in the stores, so I got some of those thinner stalked alfalfa sprouts. Then I happened to walk into the local co-op market (conveniently located across the street from my place of employment) and saw not only mung bean sprouts, but LOCAL Alaskan mung bean sprouts. Jackpot! So I actually ended up using about 75% mung bean sprouts and 25% alfalfa sprouts…and putting in a little bit extra. I used the five spice powder for the eggs, but as I’m not a massive fan of that spice I would not use it next time. In fact, I don’t think you need the egg in this recipe at all. The bean sprout stir fry was so good on its own that we gobbled it all down without any leftovers. Definitely put this on your list of new recipes to try. It was pretty easy and delicious.

Egg Foo Yung
salt and black pepper, to taste
3 eggs, beaten
generous pinch five spice powder (optional)
3 tablespoons canola oil
4 scallions, sliced
1 garlic clove, crushed
1 green or orange bell pepper, seeded and chopped
1/2 to 3/4 cup bean sprouts
3 cups cooked white rice
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1-2 tablespoons sesame seeds

1. Season the eggs and beat in the five spice powder, if using.
2. In a large frying pan, heat 1 tablespoon of the oil till quite hot and add the egg.
3. Cook as if it were an omelet, pulling the mixture away from the sides and allowing the rest to slip underneath.
4. Cook the egg till firm, then remove from the pan and slice into small strips.
5. Heat the remaining oil in the pan and stir-fry the onion, garlic, green pepper, and bean sprouts for 2-3 minutes, stirring constantly.
6. Stir in the rice and heat thoroughly, mixing well.
7. Add the soy sauce, sesame oil and sesame seeds, then return the egg and mix well.
8. Serve immediately, very hot.

Leave a Reply

