Carrot and Spinach Butter Mash

Carrot and Spinach Butter Mash

Carrot and Spinach Butter Mash

This recipe changed my world. Super kudos to the recipe geniuses behind this gem in the “easy vegetarian: simple recipes for brunch, lunch, and dinner” cookbook. I love this for the taste and for the amazing simplicity and for the super easiness of the recipe. The original recipe called for you to peel the carrots, but I know there are all sorts of good-for-you things in carrot skin, so I tend to scrub the carrots well and leave the skin on unless it’s looking really rough. I say this changed my world because I’m really not a big fan of cooked carrot. I love them raw. I love them in soups or stews where they’re part of, but not the main, action. But if you just plop a plate of cooked carrots down in front of me I might get a little annoyed. But this recipe is so yummy that I didn’t even care. I think it has something to do with all the butter you use, which makes the already creamy mashed carrots even creamier. You can use regular butter, or you can make this vegetarian or vegan, just sub in Earth Balance or another butter substitute. Eventually I am probably going to have to try this recipe without the butter, or with less butter. It’s so delicious but I know all that butter is bad for me. I’m going to have to test cutting it down a bit, or find a substitute for some of it or something. It shouldn’t be that difficult. In the meantime, try this butter-laden version. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed.

Carrot and Spinach Butter Mash
1 pound carrots, washed well and chopped
6 tablespoons butter
8-16 oz. fresh baby spinach, rinsed and drained
sea salt and black pepper, to taste

1. Place the carrots in a medium saucepan, sprinkle lightly with salt and add water to cover. Boil till carrots are tender, about 20 minutes. Drain well.
2. Return the carrots to the saucepan and turn the heat to low. Steam off excess water.
3. Remove the pan from the heat, and add the butter, salt and pepper. Mash them together well.
4. Add the spinach to the mashed carrots and stir till just wilted. Serve immediately.

One thought on “Carrot and Spinach Butter Mash

Leave a Reply

