Sautéed Swiss Chard with Olives

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Olives

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Olives

I just found “The Voluptuous Vegan” cookbook in a used bookstore and decided, without knowing anything about it, to take a chance and purchase it. Myra Kornfeld’s name was familiar, though I couldn’t remember from where at the time (later I remembered that she’s worked for Vegetarian Times). This is the first recipe I’ve tried from it and I am in love! The sharp acidity of the lemon, the saltiness of the olives, and the pungent aroma of the garlic worked so well together. I plan to try this same recipe with kale and perhaps with collards in the future. Another great thing about this recipe: its ease and quickness. It was very simple to put together; not a ton of steps. It was also pretty quick. I can imagine that if you have some kiddos to help in the kitchen and tear your chard leaves into pieces it’d be even easier. I’m a fan of putting kids to work in the kitchen. I often try to enlist my niece for a step or two in the preparation. I have fond memories of learning to cook and helping my mother, and part of my good relationship with food came from that, I think. So get your kiddos into the kitchen for this one and have them help. Memory possibilities are everywhere.

Sautéed Swiss Chard with Olives
4 garlic cloves
3/4 teaspoon salt
3 tablespoons lemon juice
4 tablespoons olive oil
3 pounds Swiss chard, red or green, stems separated and chopped, leaves ripped into bite-sized pieces and rinsed (but not dried)
1/2 cup Kalamata olives, chopped

1. Mash the garlic and salt into a paste in a bowl with the back of a spoon.
2. Blend in the lemon juice and olive oil. Set aside.
3. In a deep skillet, add a spoonful of the olive oil and garlic mixture and sauté the Swiss chard stems till just about tender.
4. Add the Swiss chard leaves, with the water still clinging to them and sauté in the water till wilted.
5. Turn off the heat and add the rest of the garlic and oil mixture to the skillet as well as the olives. Toss well to combine.
6. Serve HOT over rice.

Leave a Reply

