Appetizers

Stuffed Tomatoes

Took this recipe from a vegetarian cookbook I had at home in Ohio. Can’t remember the title of the book but when I go home next I’ll have to post it.

Savory Tomato
Prep: 10 min Serves: 4

Ingredients:
4 large beefsteak tomatoes
¼ cup cottage cheese
1 tsp ground cumin
2 green peppers, seeded and diced
salt and black pepper (to taste)
¼ cup pumpkin seeds
sprigs of watercress to serve

1) Slice off the top of each tomato
2) Remove and discard the seeds and leave the tomato upside down to drain.
3) Rub the cottage cheese through a sieve to achieve a smooth consistency. Add a little milk if necessary.
4) Stir in the cumin, green pepper and salt and pepper to taste.
5) Fill each tomato with the cheese mixture.
6) Dry roast the pumpkin seeds in a frying pan till lightly browned. Sprinkle over tomatoes.
7) Chill until required.
8) Serve on a bed of watercress sprigs.

Serving Suggestions:
–Serve with thin slices of lightly buttered brown bread or crispbreads.
(I didn’t do this because the tomatoes themselves were so filling that they almost constituted an entire meal).

Variations (from the cookbook):
–Use cream cheese instead of cottage cheese. Use ground coriander instead of cumin. Use sunflower or sesame seeds instead of pumpkin seeds.

THINGS I DID DIFFERENTLY:
–I used a bunch of different kinds of nuts. Ended up using sunflower seeds, walnuts and pecans.
–Instead of watercress I put the tomatoes on a bed of bean sprouts because I heard that my Aunt Meg really likes bean sprouts.

Here’s the end result:

Stuffed Tomato

Standard
Uncategorized

A New Year, A New Ambition

So it’s 2010 and my New Years resolution is to try a new recipe every week. Now since I only recently got back to Flagstaff and moved into a new apartment I’ve put my resolution on hold for a few weeks. The reason being that since I moved I have nothing to cook with in my kitchen. So while I’m collecting awesome cooking supplies and preparing my kitchen I’ll leave you with the recipe I made for the Wahl family Christmas…

Standard