Side Dishes

Erin’s Cuban Bean Madness

Erin's Cuban Bean Madness

Erin’s Cuban Bean Madness

We made this before we left Tucson and I just re-discovered it today. I have discovered a couple of other recipes that I made before leaving Tucson but then forgot about because we were preparing to move to Alaska. Now I’m trying to find the recipes that go with the photos I took and blah blah blah. You know. All so I can post them in the next few weeks. We’ve been making a lot of new recipes since moving to Alaska, so don’t be surprised if there are some weeks when I post more than once. I keep going back and forth on whether or not I need a posting schedule or how many times I post. But honestly I’ve got so much stuff I’m trying to do on a weekly basis that I feel accomplished if I post once a week. I’m sure none of you reading this have any idea what that’s like (that was sarcasm there…haha!). Anyway I love this because it was simple and satisfying despite pain of chopping all those veggies. Bonus points for you if you use roasted green chiles. Double bonus points if you roasted those green chiles yourself.

Erin’s Cuban Bean Madness
1 onion, diced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1 small green bell pepper, diced
1 small red bell pepper, diced
3 tablespoons jalapeño pepper, seeded and minced
1 small mild green chile, seeded and minced
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 cup uncooked rice
3 cups vegetable stock
1/8 teaspoon liquid smoke
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
salt and pepper, to taste
1 15-oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
1 15-oz. can red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
2 tablespoons lime juice

1. Saute the onions, garlic, peppers, green chile and jalapeño in the olive oil in a large saucepan.
2. When onions are translucent, add in the rice, vegetable stock, salt, pepper, liquid smoke, thyme, and beans.
3. Bring the mixture to a boil and then reduce the heat to low.
4. Simmer for 10-15 minutes or till veggies and rice are fully cooked.
5. Stir in the lime juice and let the rice and bean mixture stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Standard

One thought on “Erin’s Cuban Bean Madness

Leave a comment