Side Dishes

Mustard Carrots

I made this recipe from the “Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites” cookbook because Jake loves carrots. I like raw carrots, particularly if they’re covered in enough Ranch dressing to drown a small horse. Yum! But I did NOT like this recipe. I’m not a huge fan of cooked carrots most of the time, but I actively disliked this recipe. Jake, on the other hand, loved it. Go figure! It was definitely one of those moments that makes you laugh about the funny opposites in relationships. I said: “I will never make this again,” and Jake said: “I’d eat this anytime you want to make it.” Ha! Hilarious. So here’s my advice for this particular recipe: if you like cooked carrots, you will apparently love this recipe. If you are not a fan, you may want to find something else to do with your carrot guys. I recommend a massive bottle of Brianna’s Classic Buttermilk Ranch dressing.

Mustard Carrots
1/3 cup cider vinegar
1 tablespoon brown sugar
2 teaspoons Dijon mustard
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon dried dill
2 teaspoons mustard seeds
1 pound carrots, peeled and sliced into thin rounds

1. In a small bowl, stir together the cider vinegar, brown sugar, mustard, salt and dill. Mix well and set aside.
2. In a saucepan, dry-roast the mustard seeds for about 30 seconds, or till browned and popping.
3. Add the vinegar mixture and bring it all to a boil.
4. Stir in the carrot rounds, cover, lower the heat, and cook till tender, around 20 minutes. Make sure to stir frequently as the liquid evaporates.
5. The carrots will be just a bit caramelized. Serve this hot or at room temp.

Mustard Carrots

Mustard Carrots

Standard