Uncategorized

Microwave Creamed Spinach

Microwaved Creamed Spinach

This recipe is from “PETA’s Vegan College Cookbook.” If you don’t want to make this a vegan affair then just sub regular milk and butter or margarine for the vegan alternatives. No problem! I like this cookbook for the fast and easy vegan meal ideas it gives me, however I question how well the recipes in this book were tested before publication. The more recipes I try in this book the more problems I see in their instructions. For instance, in this recipe you were only supposed to microwave the spinach and milk mixture for 1 minute. When I tried that it didn’t really work. I had to microwave the mixture for 10 minutes, stopping every 3 or so minutes to stir, before the milk mixture thickened to a sauce consistency. I altered the recipe below to reflect this error in the book. So purchase this book if you like; you’ll certainly get plenty of ideas from its pages, but just be aware that you may have to adjust a good amount of the recipes.

Microwave Creamed Spinach
3/4 cup soy milk
2 tablespoons vegan margarine
2 tablespoons flour
1/4 teaspoon salt
pepper, to taste
1 10-oz. package frozen spinach, thawed

1. Heat everything but the spinach together in the microwave for 30 seconds. Stir. Heat for an additional 30 seconds. Stir again.
2. Add the thawed spinach and nuke 5-10 minutes, stirring every 3 or so minutes, till milk is thickened into a sauce.
3. Stir and eat.

Standard