Uncategorized

Scandinavian Cucumber and Dill

Scandinavian Cucumber and Dill

This recipe comes from the “Encyclopedia of Vegetables and Vegetarian Cooking.” You should buy this book. I’m giving you this recipe here, but the cookbook itself has another tasty suggestion for this recipe. There’s your teaser; now get your credit card. You won’t be sorry. Ever. Anyway, I made this in preparation for a VERY long day tomorrow. I’m going to take this with me to school and it will be my lunch and dinner (linner? dunch?) for the day. I tasted a couple of pieces already and I personally feel that it would benefit from the addition of more chives. Of course, I love all things onion-y so take that into consideration. Luckily since this is a mixable recipe you can always add more chives into it if you want. I’m saving the rest of my chives for Saturday when I’m throwing a Clothes Swap here at our apartment. I’m going to make a batch of this stuff for folks. Yum! So if you’re one of my friends coming on Saturday you know at least one of the many lovely things that will be at this party. Come prepared to taste like you’ve never tasted before!

Scandinavian Cucumber and Dill
2 cucumbers
salt
2 tablespoons chopped fresh chives
2 tablespoon chopped fresh dill
2/3 cup sour cream
ground black pepper

1. Slice the cucumbers as thinly as possible.
2. Place the slices in layers in a colander set in the sink or in a plate to catch the juices. Sprinkle each layer well, but not too heavily, with salt.
3. Let the cucumber drain for up to 2 hours, then lay the slices on a paper towel and pat them dry.
4. Mix the cucumber with the herbs, sour cream and plenty of pepper. Serve as soon as possible.

Standard