Uncategorized

Mixed Berry Smoothie

Mom takes a long smooth sip

I’ve been waiting to post this amazing recipe for a while. Actually, for a while I was sick, then too busy. This is the first chance I’ve gotten to sit down and concentrate on this blog again and I’m SO happy to be back. Anyway, this recipe was originally the brainchild of the blog genius The Picky Eater. I kept the original recipe basically the same. Just mixed it up a bit by making a larger batch. This recipe is the only thing that saved me from a fate worse than death: a deadly combination of terrible cold and allergies. My parents arrived over two weeks ago for a visit. We took them to the top of Mount Lemmon to see the city from high up. The next day I got very very sick. It was really only a bad cold, but I’m about the worst, meanest sick person in the world. I tried really hard to be on my best behavior since my parents were here, but it was rough. Believe it or not, my angel of a boyfriend actually did most of the cooking that week and all of the cleaning, and all of the kissing me on the forehead and handing me glasses of hot tea. I picked a winner, that’s for sure. I did get out of my illness funk long enough to mix up a whole blender full of these mixed berry smoothies for everyone one night.

Mixed Berry Smoothie

This was SUCH a crowd pleaser. I split the blender into four glasses, passed them out and listened to the sighs of contentment weave through the air of the house. Mom and I even caught my dad sticking his finger into the glass and getting the last good traces from the sides…something almost unheard of in our house. So kudos to the genius over at The Picky Eater for this recipe! I have included a picture of my parents as well as a photo of the smoothie. The light was terrible when I took these and the kitchen light does not do them justice. You really have to go to The Picky Eater’s site and see her photos of the smoothie, which are just gorgeous. Jake and I have decided that we are going to make these once a week at our house. We are trying to eat more fruit and this is a great, tasty way to do so. Try these with soymilk (as is listed in the original recipe) or use sweetened vanilla almond milk, which we prefer.

Mixed Berry Smoothie
1 package frozen mixed berries (blueberries, raspberries and blackberries) from Trader Joe’s
2 tablespoons agave sweetener
2 cups (more or less to taste) sweetened vanilla almond milk

1. Add berries, then agave sweetener, then vanilla almond milk to a blender.
2. Blend till smoothie reaches your desired consistency. Add more or less milk, depending on what consistency you prefer.

These smoothies made Dad REALLY happy!

Standard