Uncategorized

Mexican Lasagna

Mexican Lasagna

This recipe from the “Vegetarian Times Cookbook” was super delicious and filling. I have heard of Mexican Lasagna recipes that used tortillas instead of noodles but I had never tried it. My mom and dad’ll love this one, I know. They love easy casseroles and really love lasagna. I actually ate a piece of this cold for breakfast the next day and it was even good that way! Of course I also like cold pizza, so I think if you love one you’d love the other. The recipe was for the microwave, but my microwave wasn’t big enough for the square casserole dish I used (it’s good to try to think about these things before you construct the recipe..haha!). So I ended up putting mine in the oven at 350F for 25-30 minutes. I actually liked baking it, but I think microwave recipes are important for those days when you don’t have the time to bake something in the oven. So the instructions are also included for that. Choose your own adventure and enjoy the yumminess!

Mexican Lasagna
1 tablespoon virgin olive oil
1 onion, chopped
2 garlic cloves, minced
1 green bell pepper, chopped coarsely
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 tablespoon chili powder, to taste
dash cayenne pepper
1 cup frozen whole-kernel corn
1 16oz. can pinto beans, drained
1 cup tomato sauce
six 7-inch corn tortillas
2 cups low-fat cottage cheese
1 cup cheddar cheese
1 teaspoon chipotle powder (optional)

1. In a large skillet, heat oil over medium-high heat and cook onion, garlic and bell pepper till soft, stirring so nothing burns.
2. Stir in the spices and saute one more minute.
3. Remove from the heat and mix in the corn, beans and 1 cup of tomato sauce.
4. Place 3 tortillas in a 2-quart casserole dish, arranging them to cover the bottom.
5. Spoon in half of the corn and bean mixture.
6. Spread 1/2 cup cottage cheese on top.
7. Sprinkle on half the cheddar.
8. Continue layering till ingredients are used up. Sprinkle chipotle powder on top layer of cheese.
9. Microwave uncovered on high heat till heated through and the cheese is melted. Around 10-15 minutes.
10. Let it sit 5-7 minutes before serving.

Standard