Quick and Easy, Salads, Side Dishes, Snacks

Lemony Chickpea Salad

Well, I just made a SUPER high fat dinner for Jake and I. It was fantastic, just made WAY more than I expected (as you’ll see when I post the recipe in a few days) and was obviously way more unhealthy than I had expected when I looked at the photo in my cookbook. Anyway, I need to lessen some of my guilt by posting this recipe I made the other day. I’ve got to thank the fantastic blog mistress over at Eat Yourself Skinny for this amazing recipe. I had her recipe for Lemony Chickpea Salad for lunch the other day and it was perfectly tangy for a 90 degree day. Check out her blog for the original recipe. I altered mine a tad, using a real chili pepper rather than the red pepper flakes, and tossing it the way I prefer rather than using a spoon. I’m just SO lazy. Next time I have folks over I’ll double or triple the recipe and serve it as an appetizer or side dish. Also, check out my new tiny thrift store bought bowls. They’re pretty cute.

Lemony Chickpea Salad
1 tablespoon fresh parsley, chopped
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 tiny Thai chili pepper, minced
1 small garlic clove, minced
1 15-oz. can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1. In a medium bowl with a lid, mix together the parsley, lemon juice, olive oil, chili pepper, and garlic clove.
2. Add chickpeas. Put the lid on the bowl and shake vigorously to coat.
3. Let it marinate 1 hour at room temperature. Serve.

Lemony Chickpea Salad

Standard