Main Course

Tomato Onion Bake

View from above; just out of the oven.

Here’s another recipe for my friends who are fans of baked eggs. This one comes from my “1000 Vegetarian Recipes from Around the World” cookbook. It’s actually a new favorite of mine and I’ll tell you why: this is the perfect beginner basic recipe. This recipe is as simple as it gets; no frills. Sometimes in my quest for new complex recipes I forget how amazing the simple things are. This recipe made me remember how amazing tomatoes, eggs, onions and simple seasoning really can be. It’s also great to have this recipe as a base recipe. I know I can add whatever other veggies I want (spinach? sliced mushrooms? shredded potatoes? zucchini?) to this original recipe and it will be tasty and successful. I love it when I find a good base recipe like this. Finding the REALLY good recipes is one of the things my search is all about.

Tomato Onion Bake
4 tablespoons butter, plus more for greasing
2 large onions, thinly sliced
1 pound tomatoes, sliced
2 cups fresh white bread crumbs
4 eggs, beaten
salt and black pepper, to taste

1. Preheat oven to 350F. Grease a 9-inch pie pan with butter.
2. Melt 3 tablespoons butter in a skillet. Add onions and cook on low heat, stirring, till soft.
3. Layer the onions, tomatoes, and bread crumbs in the pie pan. Season each layer with salt and pepper to taste.
4. Dot the remaining butter on top and bake 40 minutes.
5. Remove the pie pan from the oven and pour the beaten eggs over the top of the mixture, making sure they’re as evenly distributed as possible.
7. Return the pie pan to the oven and bake another 15 minutes, till eggs are just set. Serve immediately.

Tomato Onion Bake

Standard