Uncategorized

Paprika Mashed Potatoes

It seems to be a mashed potatoes kind of day. When I saw Greg and Katherine’s post for Mashed potatoes with Gruyere and Olive Oil I knew I had to rearrange my posting schedule a bit and add my own recently tried recipe for mashed potatoes to the list today. I’ve attempted a lot of mashed potato recipes over the years, from the tasty baked Puffy Creamed Potatoes to the sinfully spicy Cumin-Cayenne Mashed Potatoes with Caramelized Onions. There really isn’t a bad way to do mashed potatoes. My personal preferred method is doing them the good ol’ fashioned way without any frills and lots of half and half or mashing in roasted garlic cloves and chives. This new recipe comes from the “Vegetarian Times Cookbook” edited by the Vegetarian Times editors and Lucy Moll. The final orange colour is really lovely and I immediately bookmarked it in my mental recipe box as the perfect recipe for autumn or Halloween. I love the taste of paprika so I doubled the amount in the recipe below. As with most mashed potato recipes, this one can be made vegan very easily. Remember the next time you’re entertaining a vegan guest, that it is very easy and almost unnoticeable to do mashed potatoes that are vegan friendly.

Paprika Mashed Potatoes
6 Russet potatoes, peeled and cubed
3/4 cup plain nonfat yogurt
1/4 cup lowfat soy milk
1 tablespoon paprika
salt, to taste
1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
1 teaspoon melted unsalted butter

1. In a large saucepan, add the potatoes and water to cover.
2. Bring water to boiling, cover and gently boil till tender, about 20 minutes, adjusting temperature accordingly.
3. Drain potatoes well and transfer to a serving dish.
4. Add yogurt, soy milk, paprika, salt, pepper and butter.
5. Mash the potatoes by hand or using an electric mixer till the consistency is smooth and all the ingredients have been incorporated. Serve hot.

Paprika Mashed Potatoes

Standard

6 thoughts on “Paprika Mashed Potatoes

  1. Oh my goodness these look delicious! I love paprika, but have never used it in mashed potatoes before. Sounds so flavorful. And yogurt – what a great idea!

  2. Yogurt or sour cream, I’ve used them both in my time and they’re both very tasty. 🙂 I like the addition of the paprika for colour and flavour.

  3. Pingback: Perfect Creamed Potatoes « A Poet in the Kitchen

  4. Pingback: Perfect Creamed Potatoes | A Poet in the Kitchen

  5. Pingback: Rooibos Green Beans | A Poet in the Kitchen

Leave a comment